1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Plesk 7.6 and PHP5

Discussion in 'Plesk for Windows - 8.x and Older' started by OlegB, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. OlegB

    OlegB Guest

    0
     
    We are going to implement PHP5 to Plesk v7.6. We need your opinion regarding this feature. We need to know how do you see this feature implemented.

    1. Plesk installation pack will involve PHP5.
    2. Plesk installation pack will involve PHP4 but will be able to manage PHP5 as well if you install it manually.

    But please note that Plesk will support only PHP5 or PHP4 at the same time.

    Please let us know. If you have any constructive suggestions we will examine them and come back to you with an answer.
     
  2. Bogdan

    Bogdan Guest

    0
     
    Oleg,

    Dunno about other oppinions, but I think both versions should be integrated and clinets should be able to chose what they wanna use.

    Take ASP .NET for example: people are able to make a choice. I understand that ASP was easier to integrate than PHP, but my oppinion, it can be done.

    As a hosting provider I wanna offer my clients a lot of options, and I want them to be able to customize the services to their liking.

    You did a very good job with ASP 2.0 and I am sure that everyone expects no less from you regarding PHP.

    Now... regaring your question, If you can't make both PHP versions work simultaneous on the server, you might want to set the installer to put both versions on the server, but only allow one to be activated from Server -> Component Manager. This way, server admins will have less to do when configuring it.
     
  3. PaulC

    PaulC Regular Pleskian

    24
    57%
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would go for option 2, for backwards compatibility default to PHP4. If the admin wishes to upgrade to PHP5 it can be done then.

    I'm sure it must be possible to support both versions on one server. Plesk sets the mappings for .php to the correct binary, or installs the correct version ISAPI filter.
     
  4. sergius

    sergius Golden Pleskian

    28
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no common way to support both PHP5 and PHP4. There is a problem with php.ini location.
     
  5. it-biz

    it-biz Guest

    0
     
    Option 2 seems the most logical for all, perhaps option 3 is possible :

    3) Select at install/updtae time to use 4 or 5.

    Else choose 2 and add manual install instructions for php5
     
  6. rubensans

    rubensans Guest

    0
     
    If it's not way to have two, you should keep php4 beacause lot of scripts are not compatible with php5.

    Best Regards.
     
  7. matija

    matija Guest

    0
     
     
  8. eugenevdm

    eugenevdm Silver Pleskian

    30
    68%
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't mind if you just add PHP 5 support and discontinue version 4. It's probably a good idea to dedicate a new Windows server to PHP 5 anyway. Windows is so touchy.
     
  9. ACman

    ACman Guest

    0
     
    So when will 7.6 be out and will it include mysql 5 ?
     
  10. page12

    page12 Guest

    0
     
    PHP5 Only

    Hi,

    You should make it PHP5. 4 is already depreciated.

    5 is now current and stable, do you still support mysql 3? -- that's another topic.. moving to mysql 5...

    But really, make it PHP5 and push people towards developing on the most current platform.

    When 6 comes out next year hopefully, will you still support 4 only because thats what most fo the free scripts are written on?

    Phil
     
  11. jaimz

    jaimz Guest

    0
     
    you CAN have both php4 and php5 installed on the same server, and i'm totally sure that if the techs at swsoft were to search google, they could figure it VERY easily :)
     
  12. sergius

    sergius Golden Pleskian

    28
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you please suggest any solution?
     
  13. eugenevdm

    eugenevdm Silver Pleskian

    30
    68%
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is just a random idea but has anyone tried running PHP version 5 as an ISAPI module and PHP version 4 as an EXE?
     
  14. sergius

    sergius Golden Pleskian

    28
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's known choice but unfortunately it's a special case witch restricts functionality
     
  15. Snef

    Snef Guest

    0
     
    Make it PHP5 and let it manage PHP4 with some manual actions. (a mirrored option2).

    Will MySQL5 also be included? When will 7.6 come out?
     
  16. Ryan11433

    Ryan11433 Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    As for MySQL, I want to stay with current version because if you had a existing database in 4.1.12 and upgrading to mysql5 will mess up the database I think.

    Also Invision Power Board does not support mysql5 yet.
     
  17. Snef

    Snef Guest

    0
     
    Can it be an option to choose for MySQL4.x or MySQL5 for customers?

    I like to see that we could assign MySQL4 or 5 to a customer (=domain). That would be very nice!

    I know I can install MySQL seperately, but at the end it nice that it will work through the plesk control panel!
     
  18. nethosts

    nethosts Guest

    0
     
    PHP 4 and PHP 5 can be run together by making PHP4 run as ISAPI and PHP5 as CGI.

    User can then use script mapping to select which version of php they wish to run per domain.
     
  19. sergius

    sergius Golden Pleskian

    28
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    how you suppose to share php.ini ?
     
  20. nethosts

    nethosts Guest

    0
     
    You can't share php.ini

    You need both php.ini files in each root php directory and no php files in the windows or system32 directory.
     
Loading...