1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Plesk ia64 support

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by laughingbuddha, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Does Plesk support ia64 based systems?

    I have a PowerEdge 3250 with dual ia64 cpu's. I'm running CentOS 4.5 ia64 version, and now need to get Plesk on it some how.

    Help! :(


    Matt
     
  2. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Save yourself a lot of hassle and just run a i386 OS on it.
     
  3. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would do, but u can't.

    Without changing the cpu's u can't put anything but the ia64 versions on. I tried. It sucks.

    I'm going to sell it back on ebay, and the buy another.

    Matt
     
  4. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found a Viglen SX240-L 3GHz server with 6 drive bays and 1GB memory of memory. What do u think of Viglen servers?

    Going to stick the PowerEdge 3250 on ebay in the next few days.

    Matt
     
  5. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Im not familiar with those. What CPU do they use?
     
  6. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Not terribly inspiring when you visit their site

    http://viglen.co.uk and see "no website configured at this address"

    :p

    Also once you finally do get into their site (you have to add a www. prefix for it to work properly) their site is hard to navigate to find what you want.

    There are also not much in the way of information to be found on the machines, so not much info if people found them reliable etc.
     
  7. laughingbuddha

    laughingbuddha Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spec is:-

    Viglen SX240-L
    1 x Intel Xeon 3.0GHz (space for another)
    1GB DDRAM ECC Memory
    3 x 18.2GB HDD's 15K
    Space for another 3 HDD's (Caddies are included)
    PCI LSI Logic ULTRA 320 RAID Card
    Onboard SATA Connectors
    Onboard IDE Connectors
    Motherboard Viglen VIG700P
    CDRom & Floppy Drive
    2 x Redundant PSU's
    Chipset Intel E7320
    2 x Gigabit Network Controllers
    2 x USB connectors & 1 Serial Port
    PS2 Keyboard and Mouse connectors

    The other system I can get from the same seller:
    HP Proliant DL360 G3 1U - 2 x 2.8GHz Xeon, 1GB Memory, 2 x 36GB U320 HDD's, 2 x Redundent PSU's, Smart Array Intergrated 5i (?)
    Dell PowerEdge 2650 2U - 1 x 2.8GHz Xeon, 1GB Memory, Dell PCI 3/QC RAID, Up to 5 HDD's (non included), 2 x Redundent PSU's

    The proliant seems like a better deal, even though it's a little more expensive at £399 compared with the Dell at £280 and the Viglen at £270. I would save money in the long run on my monthly hosting costs with the HP as it's 1u compared with the other 2 servers at 2u, but the saving is only around £30 at most per month.
     
Loading...