• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Same db username prefix on multiple accounts

Edi Duluman

Basic Pleskian
Hello !

I am very new to Plesk ( admin edition ) ( Just bought a server from hetzner with Plesk 12.5 Admin edition preinstalled - Debian 8.3 ) and I'm getting used to the interface which is nicer than expected so far.

My problem is that, after creating a webspace ( domain ), creating a user and asigning it to the domain itself, I log in with those credentials, everything works perfect, but when I try to create a database, the database prefix ( as I have set it to have a username as prefix ) is always "admin" ( admin being the Administrator account ).

Even though the "System User" - the one I have entered when creating the account , is clearly "landing" and not "admin".

The expected behaviour was to create webspaces, assign users to them, and then, when a database is created, it will be prefixed with that username ( truncate if too long ).

I am not going to resell webhosting or anything but we will have different tech guys working on websites and having the same prefix on all databases is pointless.

Hope I made myself clear.

1.png 2.png

Last edited:
Can't edit the post anymore so I'm making a new one. I found this link from their guide which states the following:

http://docs.plesk.com/en-US/12.5/ad...e-servers/database-hosting-preferences.72875/

You can choose to add either the subscription's system user name or the subscription's external ID (an external ID can be assigned during the creation of a subscription via the API using the optional external-id node) as a prefix for database names, and also to add the subscription's system user name as a prefix for database user names.