• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Suggestions for Plesk

N

NicolaB

Hi all,
sorry for my english :) I'm a beginner of Plesk (in the past i've used cPanel).
I think there a lot of works to do in Plesk, because a lot of functions (i think) not exists:

- show a detail of disk usage (folder, files,etc). A graphic for the most "big" file. It can help to find big file (yes, I can use "du" via ssh, but a graphic is more user friendly)

- More ftp service: Plesk use proftpd, but pureftpd is better. Btw, i think everyone need to select the preferred ftp daemon.

- Autoupdate: this is the bigger problem. I can't use for example Percona Server or Maria DB, because Plesk is looking for Mysql. And I can't disable from the autoupdate the mysql package because is required for base package.

- Change default ports: I need to run my Plesk over 443 if i'm behind a firewall, and with default port it's impossible.

- Disable email service. If i have on my server two website (aa.com and bb.com), aa.com can't send an email to bb.com
I need to run from ssh /usr/local/psa/bin/domain -u aa.com -mail_service false

- The last thing is a suggestion: a sysadmin need more flexibility. Then Plesk need two "mode": standard and advanced. A lot of users doesn't know ssh or how to manage a server, but a lot of sysadmin need the possibility to do a lot of customization (for example I use Litespeed webserver and Cloudlinux with Mysql 5.5, but I want Percona Server).

Do you have something in construction for the future? Thanks :)

Last edited by a moderator:
- show a detail of disk usage (folder, files,etc). A graphic for the most "big" file. It can help to find big file (yes, I can use "du" via ssh, but a graphic is more user friendly)